Anderson named SMCA’s best again

Stuart Anderson took three wickets and made 27 not out to help Collegians wins the first grade premiership.

Stuart Anderson took three wickets and made 27 not out to help Collegians wins the first grade premiership.

RELATED: Collegians wins SMCA premiership

STUART Anderson was named the Sale-Maffra Cricketer of the Year for the seventh time.

Anderson was the clear winner of the Noel Freshwater Memorial Trophy during the SMCA presentations on Wednesday night.

In his return season at Collegians after three seasons away to play in Melbourne and the Traralgon association, Anderson also won the first grade batting and bowling awards.

During the home-and-away season, Anderson scored 639 runs at an average of 58.09. His score of 156 in the final round ensured he won the Don Mynard Medal, awarded to the batsman with the best average who has scored at least 250 runs for the season.

Anderson took 26 wickets at an average of 12.12 to edge out his captain Jack Tatterson, who claimed 36 wickets at 13.81, for the Allan Evans Medal. The award is given to bowler who has taken at least 25 wickets with lowest average.

Anderson's best figures of 4-21 against Boisdale-Briagolong in December.

The evening's special guest was former international player and recently retired Melbourne Stars captain David Hussey.

SMCA trophy winners:

Jack Abel Trophy: Collegians.

Cricketer of the Year: Stuart Anderson (Collegians).

First grade, batting: Stuart Anderson (Collegians) 639 runs at 58.09; bowling: Stuart Anderson (Collegians) 26 wickets at 12.12.

Second grade, batting: Greg Wrigglesworth (Bundalaguah) 308 at 77; bowling: Daine McGuinness (Collegaisn) 26 at 9.54.

Third grade, batting: Ross McMillan (Maffra) 250 at 62.5; bowling: Mick Murphy (Wurruk) 26 at 11.23.

Fourth grade, batting: Toby O'Reilly (Bundalaguah) 253 at 63.25; bowling: Daniel Smart (Bundalaguah) 33 at 6.61.

Under 16s, batting: Cameron Wrigglesworth (Sale) 284 at 56.8; bowling: Nathan Whitford (Bundalaguah) 17 at 4.94.

Under 14s, batting: Ethan Albrecht (Stratford) 226 at 226; bowling: Archer McGuinness (Collegians) 18 at 6.56.

Gippsland Cricket League awards:

Senior, batting: Alex Mellor 217 runs; bowling: Dylan Bolton 10 wickets.

Women's, batting: Tamara Hall; bowling: Megen Wrigglesworth; MVP: Tamara Hall; coaches award: Abby Wrigglesworth.

Under 18s, batting: Connor Hughes 144; bowling: Connor Hughes 10 wickets.

Under 16s, batting: Kyle O'Reilly 172 runs; bowling: Jake Wynd 11 wickets.

Melbourne Country Week awards, batting: Brad Scott 122 runs; bowling: Bohdi Walker and Jack Tatterson seven wickets each; MVP: Brad Scott.

Junior Country Week awards:

Under 15s, batting: Henry Anderson 175 runs; bowling: Ben Burrowes six wickets.

Under 14s, batting: Noah Hurley 184 runs; bowling: Ethan Albrecht seven wickets.

Gippsland Senior
More coming soon!!!