Interleague squad named

Gippsland League interleague coach Harmit Singh.

Gippsland League interleague coach Harmit Singh.

GIPPSLAND League senior interleague coach Harmit Singh has announced his preliminary squad ahead of next month's AFL Victoria Community Championships clash with AFL Yarra Ranges.

Singh shortlisted 37 names, with every club represented in what, on paper at least, appears a competitive group of players.

The squad features plenty of household names including AFL Victoria Country representatives Bob McCallum and Mark Collison, Bairnsdale's former AFL star Damian Cupido and reigning league best-and-fairest Brad Scalzo.

Reigning premier Maffra leads the way with seven selections, while beaten grand finalist Leongatha and Traralgon provide six each.

Singh said support from the league's member clubs had been extremely encouraging and the door was not closed for players that catch the eye in coming weeks.

"It's a pretty strong and well-balanced squad that will play an attractive brand of footy that hopefully all the players will buy into," he said.

"It's just an initial squad and we'll add to it over the next couple of weeks as required."

The squad also includes three of the league's rising stars Bairnsdale's Corey Timms, Morwell's Ryan Hearn and Traralgon's Michael Jacobsen Singh hopes will make the most of the opportunity to be involved in a senior interleague program as development players.

The first of five training sessions will take place on Wednesday, April 19, and will be immediately followed by a team dinner and coaching presentations.

The league will meet with Yarra Ranges in the coming weeks to finalise details such as squad numbers for the match, which will take place at Woori Yallock on Saturday, May 13.

Gippsland League preliminary squad

Russell Cowan, Damian Cupido, Corey Timms* (Bairnsdale), Bob McCallum (Drouin), Chris Dunne, Cade Maskell, Tom Marriott, Zak Vernon, Aaron Hilberg, Hayden Browne (Leongatha), Sam Pleming, Darren Sheen, Mitch Bennett, Kel Porter, Danny Butcher, Daniel Bedggood, Jack Johnstone (Maffra), Tom Long, James Blaser (Moe), Jack Brown, Ryan Hearn* (Morwell), Adam Wallace, Lachlan Ronchi, Jack Lipman, Jordan Dessent, Kane Martin (Sale), Mark Collison, Tim Northe, Adrian Slottje, Ben Amberg, Matt Northe, Michael Jacobsen* (Traralgon), Nate Parades, Brad Scalzo, Brayden Fowler (Warragul), Aiden Lindsay and Jack Blair (Wonthaggi)

(* development squad members)

Gippsland Senior
More coming soon!!!
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide