Fourteen nominations for council elections

FOURTEEN nominations had been received for Wellington Shire Council, necessitating elections in October.

Nominations closed at noon Tuesday, with the random draw conducted by computer for the order of candidates on the ballot paper held after 2pm.

Seven of the current nine councillors re-nominated, with only Leo O’Brien and Beth Ripper not contesting for business and personal reasons.

Current mayor Peter Cleary, and Crs Gregg Cook, Scott Rossetti, Jane Hildebrant, Jeff Amos, Malcolm Hole and Darren McCubbin have nominated, as have Maffra resident John Duncan, Cowwarr resident and former City of Sale councillor Carolyn Crossley, Sale residents Patrick McIvor, David Strauss, Emilie Davine and Steve Boyce, and former Wellington Shire councillor Bob Wenger from Robertsons Beach.

All nine places on council, representing the entire shire, not individual wards, are up for election.

The election will be conducted by post with ballot packs mailed out from October 9.

Votes are due back to the returning officer by 6pm on Friday, October 26.

Election candidates – in order on the ballot paper:

Steven BOYCE – Sale

Scott ROSSETTI* – Sale

Bob WENGER – Robertsons Beach

Malcolm HOLE* – Heyfield

Gregg COOK* – Maffra

David STRAUSS – Sale

Jeff AMOS* – Yarram

Darren McCUBBIN* – Longford

Patrick McIVOR – Sale

Jane HILDEBRANT* – Briagolong

Carolyn CROSSLEY – Cowwarr

Peter CLEARY* – Briagolong

Emilie DAVINE – Sale

John DUNCAN – Maffra

(* indicates incumbent councillor)