New water authorities directors appointed

NEW directors have been appointed to the boards of Gippsland Water and Southern Rural Water.

State Water Minister Peter Walsh announced the appointment of Bernadette Hannagan as a Gippsland Water director.

“Bernadette Hanngan has strong experience in business management and leadership, and I am confident she will make an important contribution to the water board,” Mr Walsh said.

Mr Walsh also congratulated Peter Day, Sarah Cumming, and Malcolm Eccles on their reappointment as directors.

Mr Walsh also announced Terry Swingler, former Yarra Valley Water general manager for finance, has been appointed director at Southern Rural Water.

Horticulturist Terry Burgi, dairy and beef farmer Russell Napper, and dairy farmer Naomi Pye, have all been reappointed for another term on the SRW board.

Mr Walsh thanked outgoing Gippsland Water board director Kevin McKenzie and outgoing SRW director Harry Peeters for their service to the community and to Victoria’s water industry.

Joe Rettino has been named East Gippsland Water chairman, with Michelle Dowsett and Geoff Ellis reappointed.

Joan Liley has been reappointed South Gippsland Water chairman, while Chris Badger, Anna Kilborn and David Schultz will serve on the board for another term.