Overnight success

ZANZIBAR, skippered by Ken Pulley, took out division A line honours for the Marlay Point Overnight Yacht Race.

One hundred and twenty-six craft set off from Marlay Point with five to eight knot winds taking the fleet across Lake Wellington before a flood current in McLennan Strait kept the boats moving as the wind dropped.

Frustrating competitors, there were many points across Lake Victoria which slowed them down heading towards Paynesville, but a breeze around noon helped all but one of the finishing boats make it to the finish within the limit.

Eighteen boats which began the race did not make it to the finish, with only three disqualifications.

Zanzibar reached Paynesville in 8:45 hours, but came second on handicap behind Andrew Burke’s Why Not. Swallow, for Trevor Burke, was third on handicap.

Cecilia, skippered by Graeme Aldersea, won the division B line honours.

In division C, Kic, skippered by Alistair Sandell, won line honours, while Redback, Ian Brokenshire, won handicap.

Rush, skippered by Graham Coffey won division D line honours, while division M line and handicap honours were taken out by APC Mad Max, Tony Considine.

The Canberra Yacht Club won the Adam Brinton Trophy for best club team.