Rally good action tomorrow

ROUND two of the Victorian Rally Championship will be held around Heyfield and Cowwarr tomorrow when the Car Club of RMIT hosts the George Derrick Memorial Rally.

An event with a long history in the VRC, the rally is a favourite for competitors attracting nearly 40 of the state’s best crews.

Round one saw a tie for points between last year’s Australian champion Justin Dowel and new co-driver Scott Spedding and the Warragul-based team of Stephen and Glen Raymond taking a heat win each. Dowel and Raymond are keen to take maximum points at the Derrick tomorrow as are last year’s VRC champions Warren Lee and David Lethlean in their JDL EVO 9 Lancer.

Round one two wheel drive winners Brian Semmens and Dan Parry, in their Nissan 200SX, will have to pull out all stops to keep up with the amazingly quick crew of Andrew Bell and Correne Seabrook in their Holden Commodore as well as the nimble Ford Fiesta ST campaigned by brothers Steven and Brent Mackenzie.

The Hyundai Excel Rally Series will also be battled out at the GDMR, with Andrew Thompson and Simon Barton-Ancliff fighting off the Anderson brothers as well as the ever improving Viv Dilkes-Frayne and Doug Fernie all in the control formula Excels.

Spectators will be treated to a well set up forest spectator location at the intersection of Stoney Creek and Downings Rds, north of Cowwarr Weir, where competitors will come through twice over the day from 10.20am and 2.20pm, as well as the Heyfield service park, located at the Gordon Street Recreation Reserve, from 12.30pm while the first cars will finish at the reserve from 4.30pm.

For those who can’t get to the event, keep up to date with results from home by visiting www.rallyresults.com.au/vrc/2012/GDMR

The full spectator guide and entry list is available from www.vicrally.com.au