Veterans tie for top SMCA award

IAN Wrigglesworth and Stuart Anderson shared the Sale-Maffra Cricket Association first grade cricketer of the year on Wednesday night.

After crossing to lead Sale this season, Wrigglesworth topped the batting averages to win the Don Mynard Medal with 545 runs at an average of 49.55, while Anderson’s 10-wicket haul against Rosedale-Kilmany helped him to the Allan Evans Medal with 37 wickets at an average of just 8.46.

Anderson and Wrigglesworth recieved 19 votes each to share the Noel Freshwater Memorial Award, two ahead of Maffra’s Pete Roberts with Rosedale-Kilmany captain Anthony Scott and Boisdale-Briagolong’s Jason Phillips two votes further back.

One-day final winners, minor premiers and twenty20 winners were also recognised, while junior talent was also honoured with various representative awards presented by special guest, former test fast bowler Rodney Hogg.

Lower grade batting and bowling awards were then presented.

Local cricket legends Graeme Anderson, Kevin Hogan and Barrie and Neil Wrigglesworth received Cricket Australia awards for 50 years service to the game.

Guest speaker Rodney Hogg provided good value, sharing many humourous experiences from his cricketing career including feigning injury to be made 12th man in a test match at the WACA and having to deal with the Dennis Lillee aluminium bat saga. Hogg also took time to sign copies of his book The Whole Hogg for patrons.

For more read Friday’s Gippsland Times.