Gippsland League interleague side selected

SALE has been rewarded for its unbeaten start to the Gippsland League season with five players selected in the interleague side to meet Bendigo.

Magpies coach Matt Ferguson, who is leading the league goalkicking, was selected along with Kane Martin, Ryan Pendlebury, Luke Collins and Jordan Dessent.

Maffra will be represented in the side by Sam Tudor, Gary Jones, Josh Stubbe and Ben Coleman. Eagles coach Hayden Burgiel will coach the Gippsland side.

Leongatha, the only other undefeated team, only has one representative, forward Jake Best.

The Gippslad League will meet the Bendigo league on Saturday, May 26 at Queen Elizabeth Oval in Bendigo as part of the VCFL Country Championships.

Gippsland League team (team subject to change):

Backs: Sam Tudor (Maffra), Jack Brown (Morwell), Clinton Rowe (Warragul).

Half-backs: Josh Stubbe (Maff), Jordan Dessent (Sale), Tom Long (Moe).

Centres: Jackson Hall (Traralgon), Kane Martin (Sale), Ryan Pendlebury (Sale).

Half-forwards: Gary Jones (Maff), James Gibbs (Bairnsdale), Jake Best (Leongatha).

Forwards: Dan McKenna (Trar), Matt Ferguson (Sale), Ben Hughes (Warr).

Followers: Tom Crosby (Morw), Aaron Ware (Wonthaggi), Luke Collins (Sale).

Interchange: Lee Warnett (Wonth), Ben Coleman (Maff), James Blaser (Moe); Mark Bradley (Warr), Danny Campbell (Trar).