Flying high

JAKE Van Liet took out the 2012 Yamaha Victorian Quad MX Championship pro-class by a thrilling five points at the Maffra-Sale Motorcycle Club track at Newry last weekend.

Van Liet, from Narre Warren, clinched the title on 114 points to just edge out Colac’s Cameron Wade on 109 points. Van Liet’s older brother Mitch finished third on 88 points.

It was Van Liet’s second title for the year, having also claimed the South Australian pro-class title earlier this month.

Van Liet, who faced tough competition from Wade, brother Mitch and Daniel Middleton, won two out of five motos over the weekend, earning two second-placings and a third, which was enough to win the title.

Mitch Van Liet also won two of the five motos, but struck trouble in Saturday’s second moto where his front right shock bolt broke loose off his bike, grinding him to a halt.

A third and fourth placing was enough to see him finish in third place overall.

The 2012 Yamaha Australian Quad MX Championships will also be held at the Maffra-Sale track, Newry on October 13 and 14 with more than 150 riders from Australia and New Zealand to take part.

Championship results:

Pro-class: Jake Van Liet 114, Cam Wade 109, Mitch Van Liet 88, Daniel Middleton 88; intermediates: Ben Wade 125, Harrison Van Liet 104, Liam Glover 100, Jono Wade 87, Craig Blackburn 71, Thomas Molinari 60, Jeanette Lindsay 46, Chloe Beer 27; clubman: Darren Paulo 122, Stuart Sculthorpe 113, Keegan Ballantyne 100; women’s: Jeanette Lindsay 125, Chloe Beer 106, Danelle Ellis 104; masters: Rick Beer 119, Phil Humphries 104, Pete Middleton 72; veterans’ 35-44: Craig Blackburn 120, Danelle Ellis 109, Pete Wilhelms 106; up to 200cc two-stroke and 300cc four-stroke, 12 to under 14: Cooper Van Liet 122, Kellan Robinson 111, Ayrton Halsall 100; up to 200cc two-stroke and 300cc four-stroke, 14 to under 16: Kristen Ellis 125, Jacob Blackhurst 110, Hailey Halsall 100, Emily Molinari 54; 90cc two-stroke and 125cc four-stroke: Aidan Robinson 119, Zac Middleton 116, Kiara Ellis 100, Ayrton Halsall 90; senior dash for cash: Craig Blackburn; junior dash for cash: Aidan Robinson; senior novelty race: Jake Van Liet; junior novelty race: Kiara Ellis; good sportsmanship award: Hailey Halsall.