Martin Magpies’ best again

OUTSTANDING on-baller Kane Martin has won the Sale Football-Netball Club senior best-and-fairest award for the second consecutive season.

Martin received the McNaughton Trophy on Saturday night after polling 129 votes, 50 ahead of second-placed Luke Collins, who won the Gippsland League best-and-fairest award, the Trood Award and Rodda Medal.

Martin becomes the club’s 11th multiple best-and-fairest award winner, completing a big season, which ended in him also winning the VCFL and Stan Aitken medal for best afield in the Gippsland League grand final win.

Collins received the past players most valuable player, Andrew Quirk the most consistent award, Josh Dunkley the Harris Rookie Award, Chris Laverty the senior coach’s award and Jordan Dessent best defender.

Jamie Sweeney received the award for most tackles, while captain-coach Matt Ferguson was the leading goal kicker.

In the reserves, Mitch Davis won the Chown Shield for best-and0fairest ahead of Jackson Glenane.

Levi Mackin and Kasey McKay won the coach’s award, Chris Hudson was named most consistent, while Nick Fowler and Kieran O’Dwyer won the goal kicking.

In the netball, Lara Dunkley won the A grade best-and-fairest from Mel Johnston.

Kirby Boyle won the B grade award with Monique McIntyre runner-up, while Monique’s sister Chloe won the coach’s award.

The C grade best-and-fairest was won by Renee Potts from Alicia Piasente.

The Peter Wilson Memorial Best Clubman Award went to Tassie Deacon, Di Jolly and Ian Clewley received the president’s awards for outstanding service, while life membership medallions were presented to long serving footballers Shane Fyfe and Chris Laverty and netballer Elyse Murray.

Highlight of the night was the announcement of the 2012 Hall of Fame inductees, including former player and long serving president Alf Chown and former player and legendary fund raiser Les Carter.

Deceased inductees included legendary club and league administrator T. Victor Trood and the 1941 Brownlow Medallist Norman Ware.

The Ware family attended and presented club president Scott Pearce with Ware’s 1931 Sale premiership guernsey, while his 1941 Brownlow Medal was also on display.