Porky’s Pines maintains winning run

PORKY’S Pines continue its winning streak in Sale and District touch last week, defeating Touch of Anarchy nine tries to eight.

At half-time Touches led 6-5, however in the second half Porky’s scored four tries to two to give it the win.

For Porky’s, Craig Robert scored four tries, Alyssa Stanley three, while Louisa Date and Brett Towers each scored one. For Touches of Anarchy, Chris Gascoigne scored four tries with Henry Ropeti scoring two, Craig Campbell and Chris Katal one each.

Best players were Roberts, Gascoigne, Steve Wright, Stanley and Ashley Wouters. James Alexander won the encouragement award.

GIPPSLAND Grammar Barbarians made the most tries for the round, managing 12 tries as the young brigade of Jamie McIntosh, Jake Meade, and Ben Howes proved too fast for Phoenix, who scored three.

Barbarian scorers were McIntosh with four, Meade and Andrew Nicholas two each, while Logan Deschepper, Tom Hogben, Justin Mitchell and Leah Stoffels each scored one. Clinton Glover scored two tries for Phoenix and Matthew Lever one.

Best players were McIntosh, Howes, Lever, Stoffels and Ursula Barnsley.

Campbell Meade played his first game in the local competition and will become a valuable player for the Barbarians.

SWITCHED On Installations was too strong for CAT’s, winning 10-1.

Joe Tasker scored four tries for Switched On and was supported by Andrew Burns and Phil Randerson, who scored two tries each, Josh Woods and Steph Bullen one each.

Best players were Burns, Randerson, Tasker, Tegan Werahiko and Steph Bullen. Tahlia Griffin won the encouragement award.

NAGLE College continues to improve as the season progresses. This week it defeated the talented Gippsland Grammar Swans team 4-2.

After scores were level at 1-1 at half-time, Nagle played more direct touch in the second half to give it the win.

Nagle scorers were Oscar Crunden-Smith, Kyle Grummisch, Kobi Laudani and Connor Mclean, while Tom Murphy was the only scorer for the Swans.

Best players were Laudani, Devon Sissing, Oscar Crunden-Smith, Lucy Rowe and Annemieke Ingram.

Ashley Bodman won the encouragement award.