Mates wins Renehan award

WELLINGTON Cycling Club held its final race for 2012 on December 15 at Maffra, followed by presentation of the Mike Renehan Perpetual Award (MRPA) to Maffra rider Alec Mates.

The trophy is awarded annually to the club member with the most points for the year.

Points are allocated at each club race and other selected events, with bonus points available for first, second and third placings.

During 2012, the overall point’s leader changed several times.

Craig Keane was one of the early favorites, but Maffra rider Alec Mates finished with 91 points, Keane with 74 and Adam Palmer third with 71.

Meanwhile, Kristy Glover is currently racing at the Australian National Road Series.

Starting with the criterium race on Thursday, January 10, Glover will be mixing it with the elite of Australian women’s road cycling.

Saturday will then see Glover lining up for the 106km road race at Buninyong.

Club racing will commence for 2013 with criterium racing at Newry on February 3 at 9am. Criterium racing is an excellent way to begin road racing as you race laps of a given circuit, which rarely contains any climbing.

Several new members have joined the club in recent weeks and with an interesting calendar of racing planned for the year, there will be opportunities to race fast flat courses, or tackle some big hills, something for everyone.

Full details of the Wellington Cycling Club can be found at or club president Kevin Read can be phoned on 0488 411 026.

Results for the final two races of 2012:

December 9, Criterium at Newry:

A Grade: 1st Simon Whitford, 2nd Dave Arnup, 3rd Aaron Wain; B Grade: 1st Clinton Glover, 2nd Damien Crozier, 3rd John Verey; C Grade: 1st Gary Cotterill, 2nd Olivia Verey, 3rd Jacki Parsons.

December 15, Road Race at Maffra:

A Grade: 1st Aaron Wain, 2nd David Doyle ADFCC, 3rd Craig Keane; B/C Grade: 1st Olivia Verey, 2nd Jacki Parsons, 3rd John Verey.