Lake Wellington winners

LAKE Wellington Yacht Club scored a clean sweep of the recent national RL24 championships at Lake Hume.

During the event in north-eastern Victoria, Ohau Rua, crewed by skipper Simon Walsh with Charlie and Michael Walsh and Shane Bennett won the drop keel section, while Whatever, crewed by skipper Mitch Dyer with Darryn Dyer, Rob Telfer and Chirs Amiet, won the swing keel title.

Both crews went through their seven respective races over four days undefeated against crews from New South Wales and Queensland.

For Simon Walsh, it was his 16th national RL24 title from 40 events, while the Dyers have won multiple national titles.

Lake Wellington Yacht Club will stage the 46th Marlay Point Overnight Race over the Labour Day long weekend in March.

Entries are being received already for this iconic race which, in 2013, has become part of Yachting Victoria’s Traveller Race Series, and is therefore expected to attract and even larger numbers than in previous years.