Warriors, T-Birds CBL champions

WARRAGUL and Traralgon were crowned the Country Basketball League Gippsland men’s and women’s champions respectively after grand finals in Traralgon on Saturday night.

In the men’s grand final, Warragul defeated Western Port 65-50.

The Warriors, last season’s runner-up, led 16-4 at quarter-time and extended their lead throughout the match.

Ambu Uliando scored 17 and Jake Horstman 16 for the Warriors, while Sam Hickey lead the Western Port scoring with 13.

Traralgon claimed the women’s title with a 92-66 win over Korumburra.

After leading by two points after a tight first term, the T-Birds outscored the Wildcats 27-13 in the second to head into the main break up by 16.

The T-Birds consolidated that lead with a 24-15 third quarter on their way to a comfortable win.

For the T-Birds Danni Pearce scored 24, Leisl Sexton 22 and Jamilee Pearce 20. Marie Donohue scored 20 for the Wildcats.

Warragul and Traralgon will head to Bendigo this weekend to compete in the CBL state championships against the winners of the other conferences.