Alberton netball double

ALBERTON wrapped up the 2013 Eastern Region Netball State League competition in style in both divisions at Friday night’s grand finals.

With both Sale and Alberton taking to the court in the 17 and under division missing most of their more experienced players due to debutante ball commitments, the title was up for grabs.

Both teams began nervously with unforced errors providing a scrappy standard early, but players soon settled.

A massive third quarter from Alberton consolidated the lead it was slowly building as Sale struggled to find any continuity in the mid court.

The momentum continued for Alberton as it kept Sale at bay, taking the premiership title from Sale with a stunning 52-32 victory.

Player of the match was Alberton wing attack Tyler Ralph, who was relentless with her continued pressure and drives throughout the match.

THE much anticipated match in the open division saw the undefeated Mid Gippsland Green looking to keep its record intact against Alberton who snuck into the grand final the previous week by one goal.

In the first quarter, Alberton put up 23 shots for 14 goals result compared to Mid Gippsland’s seven goals from 10 shots.

Alberton was by far the more focused team and took advantage of the lack of creativity Mid Gippsland was offering in its goal circle as moves were far too easy to read.

A personnel change for Mid Gippsland which should have been made earlier saw its goal shooter benched for the final quarter and although Mid Gippsland outscored Alberton for the first time in the match, it was too little as Alberton won 48-33 to complete a premiership sweep.

Alberton captain Tess Angarene played a stunning captain’s game that earned her player of the grand final.

SALE’S Montana Holmes was named most valuable player in the 17 and under division and Alberton’s Hannah Flanders was the recipient of the division’s hot shot award.

Sister act Kylie and Stacey O’Brien featured in the awards for the open division as Stacey, who lined-up for Gippsland, was named MVP and Kylie, Churchill, earned the hot shot award.All stars teams were also named on the night.

All star teams:

Open, goalers: Jessica Hilliar (Mid Gippsland Green), Kylie O’Brien (Churchill, Jarney Thomas (Alberton), Rachel Shaw (Gippsland); mid-court: Stacey O’Brien (Gipp), Rachelle Chapman (MG Green), Danielle Ryan (East Gippsland), Allison Tewierik (MG Green); defenders: Ebony Best (Gipp), Kara Wogan-Browne (Alb), Catherine Bulmer (EG), Christie Hillberg (Alb).

17 and under, goalers: Hannah Flanders (Alb), Hannah Buys (Sale), Amy Houghton (MG), Ashleigh Wyatt (Gipp); mid-court: Montana Holmes (Sale), Piper Bennett- Swinley (MG), Shelby Wulffers (MG), Elis Sim (MG); defenders: Sarah Greenwood (MG), Kirsty Hodgson (North Gippsland), Karlee Dal Pra (NG), Bree Guttridge (Gipp).