Anzac Day Latrobe derby

ROUND three of Gippsland League football will begin on Thursday with Moe hosting Morwell in an Anzac Day local derby.

The Latrobe Valley Football League, as it was then known previously held matches on Anzac Day from 1960 to 1963 before only two others in 1970 and 1998, the latter under the Gippsland-Latrobe league banner.

The under 16s will begin at 1pm followed by the reserves from 2.30pm with seniors from 4.30pm. The under 18s match will follow under lights from 7.30pm.

The AFL game between Collingwood and Essendon will be on the big screen in the Moe clubrooms leading into the local seniors game.

Local RSL clubs have been invited to take part, including an Anzac Day ceremony before the seniors match. As well all service members will be able to enter the ground free of charge, and affiliate and associate RSL members at a reduced gate charge.

Along with Sale, the Tigers are the only two unbeaten sides after two rounds. The Tigers were impressive against Warragul last weekend, only getting away from the Gulls during the final term.

The Lions had their chance for what could be a rare win at Drouin, leading for three quarters before losing by 22 points. Despite the loss, the Lions would have taken many positives from that performance.


B: David Crook, Clinton Taylor, John Dewsbury

HB: Chris McIntosh, Chris Robinson, Peter Ainsworth

C: Bryce Collings, James Blaser, Geoff Whelan

HF: Jacob Wood, Ryan Sterling, Rhys Pywell

F: John Chessells, John James, Tyler Brown

Foll: Damien O’Brien, Leigh Sheehan, Jamie Ferguson

Int: Jamie Curtis, Aiden Vesty, Jarrod O’Meara, Sean Spiteri

IN: Sean Spiteri, Aiden Vesty, Jamie Curtis (senior debut), John Chessells, Bryce Collings (senior debut), Jacob Wood; OUT: Michael Blaser (unavailable), Ben Morrow (injured), Jack Casson (injured), Darren Cook, Declan Keilty (unavailable), Jason Macfarlane.


B: Boyd Bailey, Jason Stevens, Devon Soutar

HB: Tom Hutton, Jack Brown, Harmit Singh

C: Brandon Bailey, Joel Soutar, Michael P. Duncan

HF: Dean MacDonald, Lachlan Dowling, Mannon Johnston

F: Adam Bailey, Daniel Hutchison, Ben Ainsworth

Foll: Tom Crosby, Campbell McInnes, Jeff Ryan

Int: Michael J. Duncan, Luke Brereton, Tim Ryan, Patrick McNulty

IN: Jason Stevens; OUT: Julian Blac