Lightning crashes against Sale United

SALE United narrowly trails Gippsland Soccer League ladder leader Churchill United on goal difference following the Swans’ 9-0 thumping of Tyers.

The Swans are one of five team unbeaten after two rounds, and sent a message to the rest of the competition at home last weekend.

This Sunday, Sale United will head to Burrage Reserve this Sunday to take on Newborough-Yallourn United.

Such was the Swans’ dominance, five goals were disallowed for offside.

The star was Tommy Nguyen, who scored six goals, including two early ones.

It became 3-0 after Nguyen received a pass from Ray Allread and sprinted through the Lightning defence and scored again.

Jon Piefke headed a Deans Nichols cross into the net, making it 4-0 before Nguyen scored his fourth goal soon after.

Leading 5-0 at half-time, the Swans began the second half with another Nguyen score.

Piefke and Nichols scored to make it 7-0. Sale then had the luxury of substituting goalkeeper Chris Richardson.

Nguyen completed the scoring with two more goals.

CHURCHILL scored three goals in each half to defeat Newborough-Yallourn United 6-0 at home.

Ben Skinner scored two goals with one each from Paul Riess, Matt Maselli, Mitch Azlin and Taylor Jackson.

MOE United defeated Traralgon City 2-1 at home.

Nick Dastey and Sam Gatpan scored for the Red Devils and Mark Fairbrother for the Roosters.

JESSE Kennedy scored four goals as Falcons had a 5-0 home win against Monash.

The fifth goal came when a Kennedy shot was deflected into the net.

MORWELL Pegasus scored the only goal of the second half to draw Olympians 2-2 in Traralgon.

Simon Ierardi and Jeremiah Daniels scored for Olympians and Alradi Ali and Oladapo Odubote for Pegasus.

FORTUNA had the bye.

SALE United will head to Burrage Reserve this Sunday to take on Newborough-Yallourn United.

Also on Sunday, Falcons will host Moe United, Monash will be at home against Traralgon Olympians and Traralgon City will head to Tyers.

In the match of the round tomorrow night, Fortuna will host Churchill.