Polocrosse state win for Sale A grade

FOR the second successive year, Sale Polocrosse Club’s A grade team is state champion.

The state championships were held at Moorooduc recently, with Sale well-represented by six teams.

While the weather forecast looked grim ahead of the weekend, for most games, the rain held off.

The Sale A grade was favourite going into the event and, with some excellent game play on Saturday, progressed to the semi-finals.

Sale defeated Central Districts to set-up a final against a young and talented Ballan side.

The Sale included Steven Boulton, Tom Jolly, Corey Buys, Luke Lossberg, Ike Murray and Michael Semmens.

The final was a nail-biter, with the teams going goal-for-goal.

The rain came down and made play even tougher, but the Sale boys kept on battling and at the final siren of the sixth chukka it was an even score.

The game would go to extra time with the first team to score winning.

Boulton, Jolly and Buys lined up and came out victors.

Sale’s B and C grade teams made the semi-finals, narrowly missing out on progressing to the finals.

Sale’s E grade of Maree Buys, Renee Taylor, Catie Heathcote, Harry Semmens, Kirra Boulton and Marilyn Semmens lost its final to Trafalgar by three goals.

On the Saturday night, Sale’s Luke Lossberg named as one of the captains for the Victorian side to compete at the national championships, to be held in the Northern Territory in July.

Sale Polocrosse Club members also received horse and rider awards.

Lossbery received the Anthony Coridas Award for best number one in A grade, while Sale’s A grade team was named the best presented team through the efforts of Heidi Murray and Judy-Anne Wilms.

Renee Taylor was named best number two in E grade, while Roseright Minuette, ridden by Harry Semmens, was named best E grade pony.

The best C grade pony was Roseridge Midouri, ridden by Judy-Anne Wilms.

Former Sale club member Thomas Ford, competing for Ballan, won the Gerard Watt Memorial Trophy for the best under 21 player.