Sale United women's team loses LVSL semi-final to Traralgon City

Sale United lost the women's semi-final to Traralgon City.
Sale United lost the women's semi-final to Traralgon City.

A GALLANT Sale United went down to Latrobe Valley Soccer League women's champion Traralgon City in a semi-final on Sunday.

The Swans matched the Roosters for most of the game, with an own goal on 39 minutes proving to be the difference, giving City a 1-0 victory.

The own goal was a lucky one for the Roosters, coming when a mix-up in defence occurred allowing the ball to go over the line.

Sale continued to pressure Traralgon and move the ball well from the onset.

Midfielders Anouk Meereboer, Madeleine Forbes and Lemoni Japhary continually created chances and sent the ball down the line to wingers Hollie Ryan and Karli Marshall.

It was a fast attacking game and with constant peppering at goals, but the Swans' efforts were thwarted by Traralgon goalkeeper Nicole Osborne.

Cracks were beginning to show for the Roosters as their key players gave away free kicks.

Frustration set in as one City player was shown a red card after receiving a second yellow.

Sale lifted its game to another level and kept attacking, but the Traralgon defence was playing desperate football and at the final whistle the game ended with Traralgon moving to the grand final.

Teagan Fairbrother and Lilian Tesselaar also put in stand-out performances for the Swans.

The Roosters will play Fortuna in the grand final.

The Lions battled hard against a fired up Trafalgar Victory, which kept the pressure on its opponent until Stephanie Pridgeon scored at 41 minutes.

Hannah Bonnici ensured Fortuna went to the grand final when she scored five minutes before the end.

Fortuna will play in its fourth successive women's grand final, having lost the past three, while Traralgon City, which has won the past four league championships, is aiming for a third successive premiership.

LVSL grand final

Sunday at Crinigan Road Reserve (Fortuna), Morwell:

Senior: Newborough-Yallourn United v Traralgon Olympians, 5pm.

Reserves: Churchill United v Traralgon Olympians, 3pm.

Women's: Traralgon City v Fortuna, 1pm.

Second division: Tyers v Morwell Pegasus, 11am.