Maffra win Gippsland League reserves football grand final against Traralgon

Gippsland League reserves premier Maffra.
Gippsland League reserves premier Maffra.

MAFFRA overcame Traralgon and rain to claim the Gippsland League reserves premiership.

The Eagles won by 31 points, 9.12 (66) to 5.5 (35).

Goals from Sam Robbins and Hudson Holmes to begin the match had the Eagles on their way, before Josh Twite pegged one back for the Maroons.

Holmes kicked his second goal before a major through Jacob Van Iwaarden ensured the Eagles led by seven points at quarter-time.

A goal from Jake Bishop early in the second term cut the deficit to two points, before Jack Egan and Brandon Rimington booted goals to put Maffra 17 points ahead at the main break.

A breeze across the ground made kicking for goal challenging, with the Eagles scoring seven behinds for the quarter.

Rain began falling at half-time, adding to the challenge for players. Surface water, combined with pressure from the opposition, tested players' ability to stay on their feet.

Van Iwaarden and Egan kicked a goal for Traralgon and Maffra respectively during the third term, which ended with the Eagles maintaining their 17-point half-time advantage.

A goal from James Whlean early in the final quarter all-but put the match out of Traralgon's reach.

While the Maroons pegged a goal back, the Eagles kept the ball in their forward half for most of the quarter. Curtley Nettleton kicked two goals to put the icing on the Maffra cake.

The umpires voted Jim Reeves best-on-ground. Reeves and Nettleton provided plenty in the Eagles' forward line.

Jesse Ross, Holmes and Robbins set up the victory with their work in the midfield, while Josh Davis provided good run off half-back.