Trafalgar Cricket Club 2020-21 presentation

Liam Durkin

Presentation night was held at Moe Racing Club, in what was a good opportunity to formally see out the season.

Season 2020/21 saw Trafalgar have some strong performances intertwined with some average ones across the senior grades, ultimately leading to an up-and-down campaign.

The thirds played finals and the seconds won the same number of home-and-away games as the eventual premier, while the firsts defeated both teams that played off in the grand final during the regular season.

In what must surely stand Trafalgar alone in Gippsland cricket, of the 20 players that played first grade cricket for the club this season, all either live or grew up in the town.

The Ships were the only team in the Latrobe Valley and District Cricket League Premier a competition that did not have an international player in its line-up this season, and were still on the verge of playing finals with one round to go.

Major award winners for the season were Brent Claridge, who was a deserved recipient of the Ray Burgess Perpetual Trophy for best club person. Claridge also won the third grade best and fairest and batting average.

Rhys Holdsworth swept the A Grade awards, winning the Richard Errington Medal for best and fairest and the Alan Rankin Memorial Trophy for A Grade batting. Holdsworth also won the George Browne Memorial for overall club champion.

Jackson Noonan took home the first grade bowling aggregate, while a number of first grade players celebrated milestones during the season.

They were: Rhys Holdsworth 150 A Grade matches, Daniel Heathcote (100), Noonan (100), Liam White (50), Brendan Dawson (50) and Zack Brown (50).

Damien Mann capped off a strong season in the seconds, winning the best and fairest and batting aggregate. Jarryd Kilday won the bowling aggregate and Billy Claridge the batting average.

In third grade, Billy Pace was the winner of the batting aggregate, and Kingsley Rajasingham the bowling.

Young pace bowler Owen McLeod-Agland was acknowledged for his commitment to training and playing, and was a worthy winner of the senior coaches’ award.

In his president’s report, Daniel Heathcote thanked those for their efforts, and looked forward to what season 2021/22 held.


Founded: 1888-89

First game: Saturday, December 8, 1888

Premierships: 45

Most senior matches: John Asmussen 378

Leading run scorer: Alan Rankin 10,000+

Leading wicket taker: Craig Nielsen 374

300 Senior Games: John Asmussen, Graeme Rankin, Craig Nielsen, Alan Rankin

250 Senior Games: Laurie Rankin

200 Senior Games: Alan Blaser, Christian Burgess, Vic Jean Junior

Life members: Richard Errington, John Weymouth, George Browne, Vic Jean Jr, Alan Rankin, Laurie Rankin, Ben Rowney, Raymond Burgess, Neil Grimshaw, Graeme Rankin, John Asmussen, Alan Blaser, Craig Nicholas, Brett Smart, Craig Nielsen, Rod Cheatley.