We will head to the polls on May 18

David Braithwaite

THE federal election will be held on Saturday, May 18.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison on Thursday visited Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove to dissolve the House of Representatives and call an election for it and half the Senate.

Darren Chester has held the seat of Gippsland for the Nationals since a 2008 by-election.

At the 2016 election, Mr Chester received more than 56 per cent of the primary vote. On a two-party preferred result, he has a margin of 18.43 per cent, making Gippsland one of the Liberal-National Coalition’s safest seats.

Three other candidates for Gippsland are known.

University academic and author Antoinette Holm will stand for

Labor, Dr Deb Foskey for the Greens, and Sale aged care facility worker Kerri Brewer for the United Australia Party.

Candidate nominations will close on Tuesday, April 23.

Voter enrolments will close on Thursday, before early voting begins Monday, April 29.

The Liberal and National parties currently have 74 of the 150 lower house seats, and Labor 69.

Following a review of electorates, 151 seats will be contested at this election.

Opinions point currently to a Labor victory, and Bill Shorten becoming prime minister.