Gippsland Water has a new board chair and two new directors following an announcement by Minister for Water Harriet Shing.

Tom Mollenkopf AO has been appointed board chair, with Jenny Selway and Katie Wyatt appointed as directors.

Managing director Sarah Cumming welcomed the three appointments and said she looked forward to working with the new board chair and directors.

“We feel very fortunate to have three new members with such impressive experience and diverse viewpoints joining us at Gippsland Water,” Ms Cumming said.

“The new board chair, Tom Mollenkopf’s extensive experience includes executive and CEO roles in the water and environment sector as well as advising government, NGO and private sector clients within Australia and internationally.

“We also welcome Jenny Selway as a director. She has a passion for decarbonisation with over 20 years of experience as an Engineer and Non-Executive Director, primarily in the energy sector.

“Also joining us is Katie Wyatt, who is the current head of diversity and Inclusion at the Coles group and has more than 20 years of leadership and business experience. She is a proud Noongar Yamatje woman from Whadjuk Noongar country.”

Board chair Tom Mollenkopf said he felt privileged and excited to be appointed to the role.

“Gippsland Water is an organisation with an enviable reputation in the community and among its peers in the water sector,” Mr Mollenkopf said.

“Water plays such a critical role in the economic, environmental, and social wellbeing of our communities, and I am pleased to have the chance to continue to contribute.

“Ensuring we can efficiently and effectively deliver water services is a key enabler in our region. I look forward to working with the team at Gippsland Water and the community to make that happen.”

Ms Cumming acknowledged the work of the outgoing board chair, Therese Ryan and her legacy.

“Therese helped steer the organisation to reach some extraordinary achievements, particularly her commitment to safety, which has seen us exceed the ambitious safety targets she strongly pushed for,” Ms Cumming said.

“The impressive legacy she leaves includes an increased focus on customers, safety, long-term financial sustainability, innovation and investment in our people.

“Her trust in our organisation saw key strategic priorities being realised, like the recent bulk water entitlement from the Tarago Reservoir for Drouin and Warragul.

“Outgoing deputy chair Greg Hade and Director Jane Oakley helped shaped good governance and the strategic direction of the organisation, and we thank them for their commitment and passion.”

The new board chair and director’s appointments commenced from October 1, 2023.