Eagles get better of Gulls

RELATED: Moe upsets Magpies

MAFFRA consolidated its hold on second position on the Gippsland League football ladder with a 126-point thumping of Warragul.

The Eagles boosted their percentage by 20 points with their 28.13 (181) to 8.7 (55) victory.

The visitors hit the front early with a seven-goal to two opening term.

They then led by 59 points at half-time and 75 at three-quarter-time, before completing the rout with a dominant 10-goal final term.

Darren Sheen booted seven goals, supported in attack by Jake Roe-Duggan, who kicked four, Gary Jones and Andrew Petrou, three each.

Kel Porter, Jacob Heavyside, Danny Butcher and Jackson Scott controlled proceedings around the ground, starving the Gulls of possession.

Centre half-forward Ben McKay was the Gulls’ best player, with coach Steve Kidd kicking three goals.

LADDER leader Leongatha defeated Drouin by 77 points.

Holding their opponent goal-less, the Parrots stormed to a 41-point lead at quarter-time.

The Hawks managed to close the gap with a six-goal to three second quarter, reducing the deficit to 25 points by half-time.

The home team was back to its best in the third, booting eight goals to one to lead by 69 points at the final change. The Parrots kicked five goals to three in the final term to run out comfortable winners, 22.15 (147) to 10.10 (70).

Jake Best booted seven goals and Chris Verboon kicked six, while ruckman Ben Willis was best-on-ground.

FOUR goals from Troy Harley and three from best-on-ground Phillip Young helped Wonthaggi to a big win over Bairnsdale.

Bouncing back from last weekend’s disappointing one-point loss to Drouin, the Power surged to an early lead and never looked back.

The home team led by 37 points at quarter-time and despite a second term lapse, bounced back to win by 78 points, 16.15 (111) to 10.10 (70).

TRARALGON defeated rival Morwell by 19 points on Monday.

The Maroons moved into fourth place with the 13.8 (86) to 9.13 (67) victory.

Scores were level at three-quarter-time before the Maroons booted four answered goals in the final term.

Tim Johnston kicked four goals for Traralgon, with Matt Lewellin the Maroons’ best.