McCallum claims medal

DROUIN coach Bob McCallum became the first ruckman in 19 years to win the Trood Award and Rodda Medal.

McCallum claimed the Gippsland League senior football best-and-fairest award following Monday night’s vote count.

The 30-year-old received 23 votes, two clear of Traralgon coach and midfielder Mark Collison. Leongatha ruckman Ben Willis finished in third place with 17 votes.

Sale’s leading vote getter was Kane Martin with 12, equal with Maffra’s Danny Butcher.

Despite playing nine games during the home-and-away season, Eagles ruckman Trent Knobel received 11 votes.

McCallum was presented his award by 1979 and 1982 league best-and-fairest and former AFL player, coach and umpires manager Jeff Gieschen.

The last ruckman to win the senior best-and-fairest was Warragul’s David Mills in 1996.

The Trood Award and Rodda Medal has been dominated by midfielders in recent years, but McCallum’s influence at the stoppages and contribution around the ground this season – including 27 goals – did not go unnoticed by the umpires.

McCallum received best-on-ground votes for all the Hawks’ matches against Morwell, Warragul and Bairnsdale.

Returning to Drouin after winning an Ellinbank and District premiership with Buln Buln, McCallum coached the Hawks to sixth position in the Gippsland League this season.

McCallum was also captain of the Gippsland interleague side which defeated Yarra Valley-Mountain District and was among Victoria Country’s best players in its victory over the VAFA.

McCallum was named as captain of the league team of the year, with Leongatha’s Beau Vernon the coach.

Martin and Sale teammate John Gooch were also selected, as were Maffra captain Sam Pleming and fellow Eagles Darren Sheen and Kel Porter.

Maffra’s Macklin Raine claimed the Rex Hartley Medal as reserves best-and-fairest, finishing seven votes clear of Leongatha’s Caine Salmon.

Morwell goal defence Courtney Garth won the Joe Hutchison Medal A grade netball best-and-fairest award.

Leongatha’s Kathy Reid won the B grade Dawn Pearce Medal, while Brooke Soulsby of Bairnsdale took home the C grade Karen Proctor Medal.

Leongatha’s Jake Best (81 goals) and Benjamin Doran (53) won the seniors and reserves leading goal kicking awards respectively.

Morwell’s Riley Hogarth (football) and Traralgon’s Daisy Hill (netball) were the first recipients of the rookie of the year awards, while Sarah Jolly won the inaugural player of the year for the Gippsland Galaxy women’s team.

Heather Knight (Bairnsdale), Doug Lockwood (Drouin), Dominic Amato (Leongatha), Gwen Carrolyn (Maffra), Paul Farmer (Moe), Vicki Stevens (Morwell), Lisa Dunkley (Sale), Gary Williams (Traralgon), Meren Perry (Warragul) and Lani Birkett (Wonthaggi Power) were recognised for their service to football with Joe Hutchison Memorial Awards.


Back: Michael Stockdale (Traralgon), Jack Brown (Morwell), Adrian Slottje (Traralgon).

Half-back: Sam Pleming (Maffra), Shannon Bray (Wonthaggi), Zak Vernon (Leongatha).

Centre: Dale Hoghton (Leongatha), Dan Nicholls (Drouin), Luke Duffy (Drouin).

Half-forward: Aiden Lindsay (Wonthaggi), John Gooch (Sale), Brad Scalzo (Warragul).

Forward: Cade Maskell (Leongatha), Darren Sheen (Maffra), Jake Best (Leongatha).

Followers: Bob McCallum (Drouin, captain), Mark Collison (Traralgon), Kelvin Porter (Maffra).

Interchange: Adam Wallace (Bairnsdale), Kane Martin (Sale), James Blaser (Moe), Aaron Heppell (Leongatha).

Coach: Beau Vernon (Leongatha).


Goal keeper: Allison Petrou (Traralgon).

Goal defence: Courtney Garth (Morwell).

Wing defence: Danni Pearce (Traralgon).

Centre: Stacey O’Brien (Traralgon).

Wing attack: Jacklyn Hiriaki (Morwell).

Goal attack: Courtney Blair (Wonthaggi).

Goal shooter: Ramayer Gourley (Traralgon)

Interchange: Sarah Dunn (Drouin), Taylah Bott (Drouin), Stacie Proctor (Drouin).

Coach: Kate French (Traralgon).