Dessent’s ascent to Gippy team

SALE midfielder Jordan Dessent will be the only local representative in the Gippsland League senior football team to take on the Murray Football League on Saturday.

The AFL Victoria Community Championships match will be play at Ted Summerton Reserve, Moe, from 1pm.

Gippsland will be looking for its first interleague victory since 2015, when it defeated what’s now known as AFL Yarra Ranges.

Former Morwell coach Harmit Singh will coach the Gippsland for the second consecutive year, with only nine players remaining from the squad which lost to Yarra Ranges last year.

Ladder leader Maffra, Bairnsdale and Warragul are the only clubs not represented in the 23-man squad.

Seven Traralgon players were selected, with five from Moe. Gippsland should have a strong midfield, including the likes of Dessent, Tom Marriott, Luke Bowman, James Blaser, Darne l l Grech, Edward Morris and Connor Ambler.

Goals could come from Leongatha spearhead Chris Dunne, while Ryan Hearn and Shannon Bray could claim key positons in defence.

The Murray league stretches from the Shepparton area in the north of the state to Deniliquin, New South Wales.

Mobile big men Brodie A’Vard and Brodie Ross, power forward Angus Grigg and classy small forward Farran Priest are among Murray’s key players.

Gippsland will also play Murray in an under 18s football match from 10.30am. Maffra’s Joseph Ziino and Sale’s Mitchell Bown had been selected for Gippsland.

The two leagues’ best netballers will play from noon. Neither Sale or Maffra will be represented in the Gippsland team.