Bombers shot down by Cougars

David Braithwaite

CHURCHILL overcame a sluggish start to defeat Traralgon-Tyers United and earn a shot at the North Gippsland football premiership.

The Cougars will play Yarram in the grand final after winning Saturday’s preliminary final, 14.11 (95) to 9.14 (68), at Gaskin Park.

The Bombers had the better of the first quarter, but wasted opportunities in attack. From nine scoring shots, they only kicked two goals, while the Cougars only managed a behind to trail by 18 points at quarter-time.

The momentum swung with the change of ends, as Churchill kicked six goals to three in the second term to take a one-point advantage into half-time.

Both teams kicked four goals during the third term before Ben Kearns kicked a major after three-quarter-time siren to give the Cougars a nine-point lead.

Kearns kicked the first goal of the final quarter before a major from Kurt Holt stretched the margin to 20 points, 10 minutes in.

The Cougars didn’t give an inch in defence during the term, keeping TTU goal-less, while at the other end, kicking three majors to run-out 33-point winners.

Kearns finished with six goals, and Holt three. Leigh McDonald and Brayden Kokshoorn were also prominent for the Cougars.

Ricky Cochrane and Kade Duncan were the Bombers’ best players.

HEYFIELD progressed to the reserves grand final with a 50-point victory over TTU.

The Kangaroos will play Yarram for the silverware after defeating the Bombers 12.11 (83) to 4.9 (33).

The Kangaroos were strong in defence, led by Trent Anderson and Jake Kenney, conceding just one goal in each quarter.

A four-goal to one first quarter had the Kangaroos on their way, their 17-point quarter-time lead was extended to 32 by the main break.

With the match under control, Heyfield kicked five goals to two in the second half.

Jay Woodland and Josh Scott kicked three goals each for the Kangaroos.

TTU will play Churchill in the thirds grand final after defeating Glengarry by 11 points, 10.8 (68) to 7.15 (57).

Saturday at Traralgon Recreation Reserve:

Seniors: Yarram v Churchill, 2.30pm.

Reserves: Yarram v Heyfield, noon.

Thirds: Churchill v Traralgon-Tyers United, 9.30am.