See you next weekend

David Braithwaite

FOR the second consecutive North Gippsland football season, the first week of the finals will be rematches from round 18.

Yarram will play Traralgon-Tyers United in the qualifying final on Saturday, with the winner to meet minor premier Churchill the following weekend.

On Sunday, Heyfield and Rosedale will meet in the elimination final.

HEYFIELD earned the right to wear coloured shorts next weekend after defeating Rosedale by 13 points to end the home-and-away season on Saturday.

The Kangaroos moved into fourth place on the ladder with their 14.11 (95) to 12.10 (82) victory at Rosedale. Had they not been penalised four points by the league, the Kangaroos would have been in third spot, and preparing for a qualifying final against Yarram.

Heyfield led by 13 points at quarter-time before stretching the margin to 19 after a high-scoring second term, in which the Kangaroos kicked six goals and the Blues five.

Play was tighter in the third term, with the Blues kicking two goals and the Kangaroos one, reducing the margin to 12 points at the final change of ends. The visitors were able to hold the Blues’ challenge in the final term, winning by 13.

Nick Woodland kicked six goals for the Kangaroos, with two each from Sam Shingles, Jesse Bedggood and, playing his 200th senior game, Jesse Jackway.

James Conway was outstanding in the ruck for the Kangaroos, while Jack Woodland stood-out in the midfield, a day before being named the club’s best-and-fairest for 2019.

Wingman Nick Dinsdale, half-back Marcus Sundermann, onballer Bailey Escreet and forward Charlie Driffield were also integral to the victory.

Without leading goal kicker Brandon McDonald because of a head injury from the previous game, Brock Williams booted three goals for the Blues.

Brad Scott was a strong precent for the Blues in the forward line, Nick Twomey was solid in defence, Jake Suter used the ball well through the midfield, with Alex Whitehill and Hayden Bell also making good contributions.

YARRAM led TTU at each change to win by eight points, 10.14 (74) to 10.6 (66).

The Demons set-up their victory with a seven-goal to three first half, which gave them a 30-point lead at the main break. The Bombers had the better of the second half, kicking seven goals to three, which will give them some hope heading into the qualifying final.

Griffin Underwood was named Yarram’s best player for the third week in a row.

Underwood, Liam Farley and Chris Bruns formed a strong midfield unit.

Ben Vardy kicked four goals, with half-back David Coulthard and wingman Shem Rendell playing solid roles.

Guy Sinclair and Lincoln Albanese were best for the Bombers, with Ben White kicking four goals.

CHURCHILL secured the minor premiership with a 69-point victory over Sale City at Stephenson Park.

Leading by 19 points after a nine-goal to six first half, the Cougars kicked away after the main break, adding 10 goals to two to win 19.11 (125) to 8.8 (56).

Ben Skinner kicked four goals for the visitors and Brendan Mason three, with Nick Celima, Dean Degroot and Blake Slater their best players.

Josh Barton led the way for the Bulldogs, playing off half-back.

Troy Carstairs and Mitch Evans worked hard in defence, Kerrod Macgregor-Davies shouldered the ruck duties strongly, while Josh Granger and Joel Safstrom also performed well.

Bohdi Walker kicked three goals, while Nick Grainger kicked two to lead the club with 49 for the season.

The Bulldogs finished the season in sixth place, two wins outside the top five, with Jacob Schuback reappointed coach for a third season.

SHANE Morgan kicked nine goals to help Cowwarr defeat Glengarry by 154 points.

The seventh-placed Saints won 26.23 (179) to 4.1 (25) to finish their season on a high.

Morgan secured the league goal kicking award, with 67 majors for the season, 10 more than Rosedale’s Brandon McDonald.

Leading by 87 points at three-quarter-time, the visitors were eyeing a triple-figure margin. They achieved that by kicking 10 unanswered goals in the final term.

Mitch Evans kicked four goals, and Riley Johnston and Liam Harrington three each.

Pat Tainsh and Jack Casson also made major contributions for Cowwarr.

Glengarry finished the season in ninth place with three wins.

WOODSIDE ensured Gormandale went through the season without a win, defeating the Tigers by 91 points.

Daniel Missen kicked five goals in a best-on-ground performance to help the visitors win 19.15 (129) to 5.8 (38).

Tom Crosby, Gary Jones and Tim Hendricken kicked three goals each for the Wildcats, who finished in eighth place and five wins.

Qualifying final, Saturday at Gordon Street Recreation Reserve, Heyfield:

Seniors: Yarram v TTU, 2.15pm

Reserves: Churchill v TTU, noon.

Thirds: Churchill v Heyfield, 9.45am.

Elimination final, Sunday at Stephenson Park, Sale:

Seniors: Heyfield v Rosedale, 2.15pm.

Reserves: Sale City v Rosedale, noon.

Thirds: Sale City v Rosedale, 9.45am.