Bailey best in Gippsland League

MORWELL’S Adam Bailey won the Trood Award and Rodda Medal for Gippsland League football’s best-and-fairest player.

Bailey is the first Morwell player to win this award for 29 years, Rod Kerr the previous Tiger to win it in 1985.

Bailey, 20 votes, won from Wonthaggi ruckman Earl Shaw and fast finishing Moe half-back Lloyd Williams, who both polled scored 17.

Maffra’s Kel Porter was next best on 15 votes, level with Joel Soutar of Morwell.

Sale teammates Shane Fyfe, Andrew Quirk, Justin McLay and Jack Lipman were named in the team of the year, alongside Maffra’s Porter and leading goalkicker Darren Sheen.

Wonthaggi’s Tom Wells won the reserves best-and-fairest award, the Rex Hartley Medal, backing up teammates Ben Graham and Will Joplin who shared this award last year in a four-way tie.

Also on the night, goal kicking awards were presented to Sheen, who kicked 100 goals during the home-and-away season, and reserves winner Rod Tack from Wonthaggi.

Moe was named the most disciplined club, while the Morwell seniors and Maffra and Warragul reserves were named the most disciplined teams.

TRARALGON’S Stacey O’Brien won the A grade netball award on 24 votes, two ahead of Wonthaggi’s Courtney Blair.

The B grade award was won by Lisa Shields of Moe on 25 votes. Runner-up was Traralgon Bree Guttridge on 22.

Traralgon’s Keely Bourke won the C grade award on 33 votes, three ahead of Sale’s Leah Stoffels.

Karen Proctor of Drouin was given life membership of the league.


Back: Shane Fyfe (Sale), Andrew Quirk (Sale), Tom Hutton (Morwell).

Half-back: Justin McLay (Sale), Andrew Nelson (Bairnsdale), Byron Dryden (Wonthaggi).

Centre: Tom Marriott (Leongatha), Aaron Ware (Wonthaggi – captain), Kelvin Porter (Maffra).

Half-forward: Michael Geary (Traralgon), James Gibbs (Bairnsdale), Tim Northe (Traralgon).

Forward: Nick Nagel (Leongatha), Darren Sheen (Maffra), Joel Soutar (Morwell).

Followers: Earl Shaw (Wonthaggi), Adam Bailey (Morwell), James Blaser (Moe).

Interchange: Jack Blair (Wonthaggi), Brad Scalzo (Warragul), Josh Jennings (Traralgon), Jack Lipman (Sale).

Coach: Harmit Singh (Morwell).


Goal keeper: Catherine Bulmer (Bairnsdale).

Goal defence: Sarah Dunn (Drouin).

Wing defence: Kasie Rump (Leongatha).

Centre: Stacey O’Brien (Traralgon).

Wing attack: Taylah Bott (Drouin).

Goal attack: Courtney Blair (Wonthaggi).

Goal shooter: Alice Lindsay (Wonthaggi).

Interchange: Allison Petrou (Traralgon), Rachel Allison (Morwell), Annora Virgo (Bairnsdale).

Coach: Staci Proctor (Drouin).