Nguyen the players’ pick

FOR the second time in three seasons, Sale United forward Tommy Nguyen was named the Gippsland Soccer League’s players’ player of the year.

Nguyen won his second Scott Frendo Medal during the league presentation night last week.

It is the third consecutive season a Sale United player has claimed the honour, voted on by fellow players, with captain Ash Ross winning the award last year.

Moe United captain and midfielder Marc McHallam won the senior best-and-fairest award, partly making up for missing Sunday’s grand final through suspension.

Nick D’Alessandro of Falcons was named coach of the year.

Falcons’ Jesse Kennedy won the golden boot award after scoring 27 goals.

Sale United’s Josh Deschepper won the reserves best-and-fairest, and for the second year running, the golden boot award after scoring 36 goals.

Falcons player, DJ Matar won the youth division best-and-fairest award and golden boot.

The women’s best-and-fairest was shared by Fortuna’s Rachel Coultard, Abbey Ellen Taylor of Tyers and Newborough-Yallourn United’s Emma Cook.

Taylor, Coulthard and Stephanie Pridgeon shared the golden award, finishing the season on 27 goals each.

Churchill United was awarded club of the year.