Masters of cricket in Sale

SOME of the best Australian cricketers will be taking on the cream of the local game this Friday night.

The Australian Cricketers’ Association Masters will be playing a Sale-Maffra invitational side in a twenty20 game at Sale Oval on Friday from 5pm.

The ACA Masters team currently includes Greg Matthews, Matthew Elliott, Terry Alderman, Jo Angel, Brett Geeves, Wayne Holdsworth, Ben Johnson, Trent Johnston, Peter Sleep, Ian Wrigglesworth and two well-known cricketing greats to be confirmed.

The ACA Masters Tour will also visit school children in Sale and Stratford in the afternoon to play Twenty20 Blast games.

The Masters program has been developed by the ACA, the official representative body of past and present players, with a focus on the promotion of cricket.

Wellington Shire mayor Carolyn Crossley welcomed the chance to see some of the best cricketers in action.

“Being a fan of cricket myself, we’re all very excited and welcome the ACA Masters Tour to Wellington Shire,” she said.

“The tour is supported by both Wellington Shire Council and the Sale-Maffra Cricket Association. We’ve been working together to promote the popular sport of cricket to our youth and provide a great opportunity for residents to get to know some of Australia’s masters of the game.

“As part of the tour, a $1000 scholarship and 12 months mentoring by one of the ACA players is being awarded to one of our junior cricketers participating in the local team.

“With all proceeds from this event being donated to the Footprints Foundation, which assists local women and their families suffering from breast cancer, I encourage everyone to come along and support our cricketers in the twenty20 game.”

Spectator entry is by gold coin donation.

A formal match function will be held during the game. Tickets are $60 per person and include a two-course meal, finger food and after-match with ACA players, while drinks are at bar prices.

Tickets can be purchased from JSM Embroidery, Workwear and Safety; Gippsland Trophy House; Elders Maffra; or through SMCA clubs.

SMCA President’s XI: Adrian Burgiel, Ben Howes, Jack Wrigglesworth, Matt Dowsett, Nathan Massey, Ned Hurley, Jayden Allison, Geoff Wells, Brad Lynch, Hayleigh Brennan, Brad Scott, Jarryd Floyd, Jack Reitschel.

ACA Masters: Terry Alderman (Australia, WA), Jo Angel (Australia, WA), Matthew Elliott (Australia, Victoria, SA), Brett Geeves (Australia, Tasmania), Wayne Holdsworth (Australia, NSW), Ben Johnson (SA), Trent Johnston (Ireland, NSW), Jimmy Maher (Australia, Queensland), Greg Matthews (Australia, NSW), Peter Sleep (Australia, SA). Two players will be added to the ACA Masters side.