Bairnsdale bags GCL crown

BAIRNSDALE has claimed its ninth Gippsland Cricket League senior premiership following with an extraordinary win over Traralgon.

Bairnsdale batted first at Traralgon with Hayden Erfurth (16) and Luke Schumann (17) putting on 30 for the first wicket, but the batting team struggled against an accurate Traralgon attack.

Rohan Blandford (17), Nick Davies (24 not out) and captain Marcus Latham (20) were the only other batsmen to make any impression as Bairnsdale was dismissed for 135 off 48.4 overs.

In reply, Traralgon achieved an opening stand of 39 before Al Jenkin (11) was dismissed.

Greg Munro (62) was in sparkling form and, with Jordan Gilmore (14), took the score to 2-89, putting Traralgon in what appeared to be an invincible position. However player of the match Latham bowled his team to victory, claiming 5-21 off 9.4 overs.

Traralgon lost a remarkable 9-29 to be all out for 118 off 48.4 overs.

Latham received great support from Scott Davidson (2-14) and Jonny Lash (2-32) as Bairnsdale maintained it undefeated record for the 2014-15 GCL season.

TRARALGON had better fortune against Bairnsdale in the under 18 final.

Traralgon scored a competitive 8-210 from its 50 overs with Mitch Membrey (54), Justin Little (41) and Ryan Vickery (28) all batting well. Tim Daniel (3-28) and Lincoln Robinson (2-39) were Bairnsdale’s best bowlers.

Bairnsdale had no answers to Traralgon’s pace attack, bundled out for 79 off only 30 overs.

Player of the match Kurt Holt captured 4-5 off seven overs. He was well-supported by Chris Graham (3-18) and Alex Lawson (2-29).

BAIRNSDALE claimed the under 16 title with victory over Warragul.

Warragul won the toss and accumulated a competitive 169 off 48.4 overs. The main contributors with the bat were Thomas Wyatt (33), Kim Drew (31), Zane Harper (29) Charlie Park (26) and Sean Masterson (21).

Bairnsdale’s Josh Buck won the player of the match award with the outstanding figures of 7-30 off 9.4 overs. He was well backed up by Ricky Tatnell, who claimed 3-37 off 10 overs.

After losing an early wicket, Brodie Anderson (57 not out) and Liam Giove (37) set-up the win for Bairnsdale. Handy contributions from Tatnell (29) and Hayden Edwards (23 not out) saw Bairnsdale home as it notched up 5-171 with only seven balls remaining.

Harry Wans was Warragul’s stand-out bowler with 4-36 off 10 overs.