Warriors share top award

ROSEDALE-Kilmany teammates Anthony Scott and Jake Benfield named joint winners of the Noel Freshwater Memorial Trophy for the Sale-Maffra cricketer of the year.

The result completed a clean sweep of the first grade awards for the Warriors, who also provided the winners of the batting and bowling trophies.

Scott and Benfield finished ahead of Collegians’ Mark Nicholls to claim the top award. It is the second time in four years the Freshwater Memorial has been shared.

Scott scored 513 runs during the home-and-away season, while Benfield claimed 30 wickets and scored 334 runs.

Benfield capped off the season by being named the player of the grand final, after taking three wickets and scoring an unbeaten 75.

RK captain Brad Scott, who won the cricketer of the year award the past three seasons, won the Don Mynard Medal for best batsman, having scored 521 runs at an average of 65.13.

Hayden Glover won the Allan Evans Medal, bowling award, after taking 27 wickets at 27.78 for the Warriors.

The four players were major factors in the Warriors’ run to the grade premiership, their first in 29 years.

The Scott brothers and Benfield were named in the first grade team of the year.

Grand finalists RK and Bundalaguah provided three players each to the team.

With selection of the team based on number of runs and wickets, Glover missed out as he didn’t take enough wickets.

Former Victoria captain Darren Berry was special guest at the function.

SMCA team of the season:

Anthony Scott (Rosedale-Kilmany, 513 runs)

Jake Benfield (RK, 30 wickets)

Brad Scott (RK, 521 runs)

Mat Dowsett (Bundalaguah, 513 runs)

Adrian Burgiel (Bundalaguah, 471 runs)

Jayden Allison (Collegians, 439 runs)

Chris Aurisch (Stratford, 434 runs)

Mark Nicholls (Collegians, all-rounder, 31 wickets and 464 runs)

Daniel Cameron (Boisdale-Briagolong, wicket-keeper, 23 dismissals)

Ben Jones (Sale, 30 wickets)

Jack Rietschel (Stratford, 28 wickets)

Dylan Rowley (Bundalaguah, 28 wickets)