Sharks begin title defence

​THE Gippsland Cricket League season will begin this Sunday with a grand final rematch.

Sale-Maffra will begin the defence of its senior premiership against Traralgon at Maffra.

Seven members of the Sharks team which defeated Traralgon in the grand final have been selected to play on Sunday, led by captain Jack Tatterson.

Cormac Hassett, David Atkinson, Jack Rietchel and Stuart Anderson were among the runs for their respective clubs last weekend. Brad Scott claimed four wickets, while Rietschel took three.

One of Traralgon’s key players, captain Lee Stockdale, scored 77 runs for Ex Students at the weekend.

Tim Fitch scored 90 for Traralgon West, while Rovers’ Todd Mann took four wickets.

Only five associations will contest the GCL senior competition this season, with Central Gippsland and Alberton electing not to field teams. Central Gippsland will still take part in the under 18 and 16 competitions.

In Sunday’s only other senior match, Warragul will host Leongatha. Bairnsdale will have the bye.

In the under 18s, Sale-Maffra will play Leongatha at the College Oval in Sale, while the under 16 Sharks will host Warragul at Bundalaguah.

Six teams will vie for the women’s silverware, with Sale-Maffra, Bairnsdale, Warragul and Leongatha associations taking on club sides Morwell, and Calignee and Traralgon South.

A women’s twenty20 competition has been introduced this season, beginning with a triple header on October 29. The final will be played on November 12.

The one-day competition will begin November 26.