MX Nationals at Newry

THE 2018 MX Nationals motocross series is set to be a blockbuster.

Two-time champion Dean Ferris will be looking for his third MX1 title in a row, and Tinamba’s Cody Dyce will go up a class to MX2 after winning the under 19 MX development competition last year.

The first round will be at the Newry track, and series director Kevin Williams was hoping locals would get involved.

“This the first time we’ve been back here since 2008, it’s only the second time the MX Nationals have been to the Newry track,” he said.

“I’m really looking forward to this, I’m a Gippsland boy and I raced here as a kid — to see Cody Dyce, a young guy who’s done so well as a junior, and he’s from Tinamba, you can’t get more local than that, to see him come out and step it up, I’m hoping he can give them a shake.”

Dyce, 17, will race with Empire Motorsports, and is keen to get stuck into the competition.

“There’s a lot of fast guys this year, I don’t really have any expectations so I’ll be going in with open hands,” he said.

“I’ve raced against a couple of the boys at the start of last year, I went alright, it gives me a bit of confidence.”

While Dyce is moving up into a new class, Ferris will be fending off challengers in the MX1 to hold onto his championship title.

He said he was looking forward to racing at Newry, as he was last here as an 18-year-old.

“I have to improve every year, everyone’s trying to step up and take the number one, so I have to make sure I show up with my A-game,” he said.

“There’s lots of gym, lots of cycling, lots of riding and testing to get the bike better, working on every aspect of going fast on a bike.

“It’s a hard-packed track, but it’s got a lot of speed, you have to have a lot of strength and a really good bike.”

As well as MX1 and MX2, there will also be development races and a 125 support class across the weekend.

Spectators will get a packed day of racing, featuring top riders from across Australia and New Zealand.

The season begins on Sunday, April 15, with gates opening at 7.30am, and racing from 8.30am.