Nel named SMCA’s best

David Braithwaite

SALE’S South African all-rounder Coenie Nel is Sale-Maffra’s cricketer of the year.

Nel was recognised for his consistent season, receiving the Noel Freshwater Memorial Trophy.

Nel made 475 runs during the home-and-away season at an average of 47.5, scoring an unbeaten 101 against Maffra in round nine and three half-centuries.

Nel took 27 wickets during the home-and-away season at 16.56, claiming a wicket in all but one match. His his best figures for the season were 6-44 in the semi-final victory over Collegians.

It was an anti-climatic end to the season for Nel, who was also part of the Sale team which won the first grade premiership.

The Swans were awarded the premiership after the grand final against Stratford because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The SMCA was due to hold its presentation night Wednesday last week, but also became a victim of the coronavirus. The association has given clubs trophies to hand out to players.

Nel won the award by two votes from Bundalaguah’s Steve Spoljaric, who claimed the Don Mynard Medal for best batsman, scoring a total of 576 runs at 44.31.

Collegians’ Tom Morrison won the Allan Evans Medal for best bowler, taking 34 wickets at 12.24.

Nel, Spoljaric and Morrison were named in the first grade team of the year.

The past 10 years of Sale-Maffra cricket was marked with the naming of the team of the decade, with Jack Tatterson named captain.

Thirteen players were selected, based on a hypothetical Country Week squad.

Lower grade batting awards went to Mick Roberts (Boisdale-Briagolong, seconds), Scott Schuback (Bundalaguah, thirds), Greg Wrigglesworth (Bundalaguah, fourths), Austin Bauer (Longford, under 16s) and Sam Anderson (Collegians, under 14s).

Lucas Mowat (Sale, seconds) and Wayne Robinson (Maffra, thirds), Dan Burton (Heyfield, under 16s) and Josh Westland (Heyfield, under 14s) won bowling awards, as did Tomas Pritchett (Stradbroke) and Jacob Westland (Boisdale-Briagolong), who shared the fourths title.

Bundalaguah was the season’s best performing club, winning the Jack Abel Award.

Sale captain Rohan Blandford won the Spirit of Cricket Award.

Batting awards for Sale-Maffra’s Gippsland Cricket League teams were won by Cormac Hassett (seniors), Tom Morrison (under 18s), Megen Wrigglesworth (women’s), Lily-Mae Lyndon (under 17 girls) and Austin Bauer (under 15 boys).

Bowling awards went to Jack Rietschel (seniors), Toby O’Reilly, Jake Wynd (sharing the under 18s), Megen Wrigglesworth (women’s), Jazz Anstee (under 17 girls) and Mason Annear (under 15 boys).

Rietschel won the Country Week bowling and Jack Wrigglesworth the batting.

SMCA life memberships were awarded to Col Gieschen, Chris Tudor and Kevin Lanigan.

Coenie Nel (Sale) 475 runs and 27 wickets

Steve Spoljaric (Bundalaguah) 576 runs and 29 wickets

Adrian Burgiel (Collegians) 512 runs

Zac Hurley (Collegians) 510 runs

Toby Leeds (Boisdale-Briagolong) 501 runs

Richard Bell (Longford) 460 runs

Jed Malone (Collegians) 29 wicket-keeping dismissals

Tom Morrison (Collegians) 34 wickets

Dylan Rowley (Rosedale-Kilmany) 30 wickets

Jonny Lash (Stratford) 26 wickets

Jack Wrigglesworth (Stratford) 24 wickets

Ben Durrant (Maffra) 24 wickets

Jack Tatterson (Stratford and Collegians, captain)

Brad Scott (Rosedale-Kilmany)

Mat Dowsett (Bundalaguah)

Toby Leeds (Boisdale-Briagolong)

Nathan Magnuson (Maffra)

Mark Nicholls (Collegians)

Anthony Scott (Rosedale-Kilmany)

Matt Foster (Collegians)

Jack Rietschel (Stratford)

Josh Rurawhe (Maffra)

Josh Davis (Maffra)

Dylan Bolton (Boisdale-Briagolong and Stratford)

Ben Jones (Sale)