Changes to GCL format

Liam Durkin

BECAUSE of cost cutting measures, the Gippsland Cricket League season for seniors and under 18s has been revamped into a two-pool competition for the 2020-21 season.

The new format will see two pools created and reduce the five-round competition.

Sale-Maffra, Traralgon and Bairnsdale will make up one pool, while Leongatha, Warragul and Latrobe Valley will play in another.

During the pool stage, each team will play one home game and one away, and have a bye.

The top two teams from each pool will then play a semi-final against a team from the opposite pool. The top team in the pools will host the second-ranked team from the other pool for a place in the final.

The third ranked teams will play each other in a consolation final.

Individual performances in the pool stage and the semi-finals will determine the All-Gippsland Team.

Further cost cutting measures by Cricket Victoria to withdraw the Regional Big Bash have also led to the cancellation of the Kookaburra Cup.

The Kookaburra Cup was an annual fixture in Gippsland cricket pitting the two best performed teams from the previous season against each other for the right to represent Gippsland at the Regional Big Bash.

Elsewhere, the Bairnsdale Cricket Association will be hosting Junior Country Week this season.

Women’s GCL will be also be reduced to a maximum of four days plus a final.

Given the current climate, it appears a long-shot the cricket season will start at its usual time of early October.