Maffra locks in leaders ahead of next challenge

Maffra Cricket Club leaders for season 2021-22 are Sam McLaverty (third grade captain), Josh Davis (first grade), Dean Rowley (chairman of selectors), Lee Hopkins (coach), Luke Heyne (fourth grade) and Chris Francis (second grade). Photo: Maffra Cricket Club Facebook

Josh Farrell

Maffra Cricket Club has announced its captains for the coming season.
A grade captain Josh Davis is continuing in his role after a strong season for the club last year.
The Eagles enjoyed mixed success across the grades last season with their firsts and thirds playing finals, while their seconds and fourths missed out.
Davis, who has been a long-time servant for the Eagles, scored 260 runs batting in the top order and took 15 wickets last season with his left arm orthodox.
Davis said he was excited for the season ahead after the team narrowly missed out on a premiership six months ago.
“I love working with the boys,” he said.
“We have got a pretty similar team to what we had last year.
“I love the club, I have grown up in Maffra my whole life — some of my best mates play at the club.
“It’s kind of good to keep pushing the legacy on a bit as a group.
“I am just going to keep rocking up each year.”
It has been a few years between drinks for the Eagles, with their last premiership in 2011-12 against Bundalaguah under the captaincy of current president Brett Lanigan.
The Eagles will need to once again overcome a strong Stratford this season if they want to go one better.
“Stratty were a really good team last year — it is certainly going to be tough to beat them again this year,” Davis said.
It has been a challenging preseason for all clubs.
A truncated approach has resulted in big gaps between preseason sessions and regular sessions, which have only been able to return for the past two weeks.
“We aren’t really 100 per cent sure what the season is going to look like … we just have to keep preparing so we are ready to go,” Davis said.
Lee Hopkins will again coach the club, while Dean Rowley will be chairman of selectors.
Davis will work closely with confidants Chris Francis (second grade captain), Sam McLaverty (third grade) and Luke Heye (fourth grade).