Eagles trio is among netball award winners

Maffra's Brooke Anderson won the Karen Proctor Medal for the Gippsland League C Grade best and fairest. File Photo

THREE Maffra Netball Club players finished on top in Gippsland League’s best and fairest count at the weekend.

Maffra’s Brooke Anderson polled 20 votes to win the Karen Proctor Medal (C Grade), finishing one vote clear of Jessica Murray (Leongatha).

Maffra rising star Chelsea Allman was a clear winner of the 17 years and under best and fairest, polling 21 votes to finish four clear of Sale’s Charlotte Ronchi.

Maffra’s Matilda Pendergast won the 15 years and under best and fairest, polling 18 votes to beat Bairnsdale’s Jordan O’Connor by one.

Maffra’s Emma Allman was also named on the interchange bench in the league’s A grade Team of the Year.

Sale’s Mia Ballinger and Leongatha’s Lara Cocksedge tied on 20 votes to win the 13 and under best and fairest award.

Two players shared the league netball’s most prestigious individual honour, following a thrilling Hutchison Medal vote count.

Leongatha centre Nicola Marriott and Warragul defender Christie Hillberg could not be split after polling 15 votes.

Just two votes separated the top six place-getters at the end of the count, broadcast online because of COVID-19 restrictions.

Traralgon’s Amy Harrison and Hannah Flanders finished tied for third on 14 votes, with Wonthaggi Power’s Jessica McRae and Morwell ace Tanya Budge tied for fifth on 13 votes.

Morwell’s Milly Murphy won the Dawn Pearce Medal as the B Grade league best and fairest with 17 votes, one clear of Traralgon’s Kasey Guttridge.