Ashcroft EGFNL’s best

PAYNESVILLE’S Damien Ashcroft won the East Gippsland Football-Netball League senior best-and-fairest award.

On Monday night, Ashcroft polled 19 votes, finishing one ahead of Lindenow’s David Donchi.

Last year Ashcroft finished two votes behind joint winners Gary Jones (Lucknow) and Corey Scholtes (Stratford).

Another Paynesville player, Keith Ritchie received the senior goal kicking award after kicking 56 majors during the home-and-away season.

Stratford’s success on the football field and netball court this season was reflected in its players receiving awards.

Swan Simone Turner was named the A grade netball best-and-fairest, polling 25 votes. Lindenow’s Bronwyn Evans was runner-up with 19.

Aaron Lynch won the reserves football best-and-fairest on 30 votes, finished well ahead of runner-up Martyn Greaves of Lakes Entrance on 14.

Lynch’s teammate Stephen McKerrow received the reserves goal kicking award after booting 41.

Merewalesi Pritchett shared the B grade netball best-and-fairest with Wy Yung’s Kirby Banks after both finished on 17 votes. Keonie Hayes of Paynesville was next best with 15.

Breanna Kerton was runner-up in the C grade best-and-fairest with 16 votes, three behind winner Karina Robinson of Orbost-Snowy Rovers.

Lacey Dugan and Wy Yung’s Stacey Orchard tied for second place in the C grade reserve award, with 18 votes. Lucknow’s Debbie Smith won with 20.

Wy Yung’s Josh Broome won the under 18 football best-and-fairest with 26 votes ahead of Paynesville’s Thomas McKay on 24.

The Spirit of Sport Football Award went to Jae Derbyshire of Orbost-Snowy Rovers, while the Rising Star Award was shared by Thomas McKay (Paynesville) and Deven Costigan (Lucknow).

The under 18 goal kicking award went to Lachlan McDonald of Paynesville, who kicked 72.

The under 16 football best-and-fairest was shared by Max Battel (Orbost-Snowy Rovers) and Khom Falla (Lucknow), both with 20 votes. Next best were Corey Dennison (Wy Yung) and Jesse Guarnaccia (Lakes Entrance) on 19.

Aaron Matthews of Lakes Entrance won the under 16 goal kicking on 54.

Lakes Entrance’s Zoe Carr won the D grade netball best-and-fairest with 26 votes, five ahead of Lucknow’s Sarah Redenbach.

Carr also received the Spirit of Sport Netball Award.

HEYFIELD’S Josh Stubbe and Churchill’s Travis Brighton were joint winners of the Sel Burley Medal, the North Gippsland senior football best-and-fairest award.

Brighton and Stubbe polled 25 votes each, along with Yarram’s Griffin Underwood, who was ineligible for the award.

It was the second year in a row the competition had joint medallists.

Sale City’s Daniel Bird nabbed the Lloyd Schacht Medal as reserves best-and-fairest, while Churchill’s Ben Skinner picked up the George Bland Medal as third best-and-fairest.

The A grade netball award was won by Rosedale’s Brownyn Tebb.

Other netball awards were won by Maddie Van Gelderen (TTU, B grade), Tayla Pendlebury (Gormandale, C grade), Emily Hutchison (Churchill, D grade), Jessica Adams (Boisdale-Briagolong, under 17s) and Kelsey Pilbeam (Heyfield, under 15s).