Tigers on top again

RELATED: Netball round-up     Lower grade football round-up

MORWELL has won back-to-back Gippsland League senior premierships for the first time after defeating Wonthaggi in a low-scoring grand final on Saturday.

Foundation members of the league in 1954, the Tigers won successive premierships in the former Central Gippsland league in the early 1950s.

The Tigers defeated the Power 8.7 (55) to 5.7 (37), completing a successful two-year spell for Harmit Singh as coach.

The Tigers scored the only goal of the first quarter and by half-time they led by 18 points.

In an even second half dominated by defence, both teams kicked 2.4 with Morwell retaining its half-time lead by the final siren.

The Power played its first football in the final quarter. It had most of the play but finished poorly, hitting the post and missing shots for goal from close range.

After an early goal, Wonthaggi was only 11 points down before Morwell, with a rare final quarter surge, went forward with Daniel Hutchison gathering the loose ball and kicking a goal from close in to seal victory.

Ashley Close, who joined Morwell this season from the amateurs, played at centre half-forward and was named best-on-ground.

Tarkyn Lockyer, with three goals, was a very effective onball player for the Tigers, while Tim Ryan on the win, Rob Michaelides on the forward flank, Joel Soutar in the centre and Michael P. Duncan on the ball also featured in the victory.

Full back Shannon Bray was the Power’s best player, with defender Byron Dryden, Earl Shaw in the ruck, Michael Kelly, Chris Wylie and Joel Liddle also playing well.