Sharks to travel to Traralgon

SALE-Maffra’s senior team will meet Traralgon in round two of the Gippsland Cricket League this Sunday.

After their surprising round one loss to Central Gippsland, victory at Stoddart Oval in Traralgon is a must for the Sharks if they are to defend the title they won last season.

Sale-Maffra boasts a strong batting line-up including Josh Rurahwe, Brett Lanigan and Rohan Diamond. All-rounders Brad Scott, Jack Tatterson and Taylor Tatterson will also have important roles to play.

Traralgon began its season with a comfortable win over Warragul with the fine bowling of Ben Julin, Todd Mann, skipper Michael Warne and Matt Golding leading the way.

Jordan Gilmore is in good early season form and he will be looking for support from former Warragul player Daniel Hamilton and Sam Marks.

AFTER a great victory against Sale Maffra in round one, Central Gippsland will host Bairnsdale at Mirboo North.

Veteran Anthony Bloomfield starred with the bat and it will be interesting to see if he lines up again. Skipper Rhys Holdsworth and gun bat Andrew Philip will bolster the line-up considerably and Tim Dowe and Chris Johnson will be hoping to continue their good form with the ball.

Bairnsdale began the season with a strong win over Leongatha. Its batting line-up of Ray Stevens, Rohan Blanford, Hayden Erfurth and Luke Schumann is a daunting prospect for any opponent.

Nick Davies, Dion Holden and experienced captain Marcus Latham will head up the Bairnsdale attack.

FIRST round losers Leongatha and Warragul will do battle at Wonthaggi.

Leongatha didn’t make enough runs in the first round and will be hoping Thomas Wyatt, Jason Wilson and Gavin Britt can get among the runs. Tim Wightman is a consistent GCL performer with ball and he will be supported by Alan Jenkins and Shane Dole.

Warragul was very disappointing with the bat against Traralgon with Trevor Gardiner top-scoring with 21. Aaron Fawcett is in good form with the ball for the visiting team.