Redbacks to host Collegians in T20 final

STRATFORD cruised to victory over Boisdale-Briagolong in round four of Sale-Maffra T20 cricket to advance to the final.

The Redbacks will host Collegians in Tuesday night’s final.

Collegians entered the final round undefeated all but assured of a place in the final, watching on to see who it would face as it sat out the final round with the bye.

Stratford defeated Boisdale-Briagolong to advance with victories not enough for Sale and Bundalaguah, who finished a further six points back.

Stratford will enter the final in good form, cruising to victory over the Saints in a match postponed to Thursday night because of recent rain. Like Collegians, the Redbacks have gone through the competition undefeated.

Spinner Jack Rietschel opened the bowling and the move paid off, with the Redback snaring 3-22 as Stratford restricted the Saints to 7-97.

Chris Aurisch and Jack Tatterson both made starts, while Cormack Hassett and Jeremy Jones seeing it through to a comfortable eight-wicket win with five overs to spare.

On Tuesday night, Bundalaguah and Sale both secured victories to keep their finals hopes alive. Both sides would have been in the hunt to play Collegians had the Redbacks lost to the Saints.

Garry Williams led the way for Bundalaguah with 4-11, while Nathan Massey ditched the gloves to take two wickets with the ball. Ray Massey also chipped in with two wickets.

Chasing 124, Bundalaguah posted 5-144 from its allotted 20 overs. Josh Pearson was the multiple wicket taker for Heyfield.

In a match which went down to the wire, Sale passed Wurruk’s total in its 20th over.

Bohdi Walker was tracking well for Wurruk, reaching 27 before being run out, while late hitting from Andrew Ford (40 not out) helped the Toads to 8-130. Scott Wegener led the way for Sale with 4-19.

Jarrod Moxey dominated an opening stand of 23 as Nico Watt played anchor, combining with Ben Jones to get Sale’s run chase off to a good start. But a flurry of wickets stalled the run chase, with Sale getting over the line in the 20th over, finishing 7-133.

Michael Slack and Jonny Honeyman were the multiple wicket takers for the Toads.