Senior Sharks on the board

SALE-MAFFRA scored its first win of the Gippsland Cricket League season during round four on Sunday.

A polished bowling performance helped set up the six-wicket win over Leongatha at Stephenson Park.

Karl High and Jack Tatterson got the Sharks off to a good start, while Brad Scott, Josh Davis, Dylan Bolton and Rohan Diamond each took two wickets.

Spinner Jack Rietschel conceded just 11 runs from his 10 overs in a complete bowling performance by the Sharks, with Leongatha bowled out for 117 in the 47th over.

The Sharks slumped to 4-46 in reply, but Ben Saxon and Diamond steadied with an unbroken partnership of 72 to see Sale-Maffra home with 14 overs to spare.

Despite the win, the Sharks are out of contention to make the final and defend their title.

In other matches, Bairnsdale defeated a determined Warragul to secure its place in the final, while Traralgon prevailed over Central Gippsland in a high scoring contest.

Victory for Traralgon in the final round will see it advance to the final, while a loss will open the door for third-placed Warragul.

SALE-MAFFRA finished its under 18 GCL campaign on a high, defeating Bairnsdale at Nagle.

Victory for Sale-Maffra wasn’t enough to replace Bairnsdale in the top two, with the Sharks one of four sides to finish on 14 points in an even competition.

Several Sale-Maffra batsmen made starts as the Sharks posted 9-143. Jack Wrigglesworth, Isaac Love and Mitch Thacker all advanced past 20 to lead the way.

Brayden McCarrey scored 60 but received little support, with Bairnsdale falling 14 runs short in reply.

Kerrod Macgregor-Davies (4-18) and Louis Howard (3-30) led the way with the ball, while Wrigglesworth chipped in with two wickets.

Traralgon will play Bairnsdale in the final.

SALE-MAFFRA fell short against Bairnsdale at Lakes Entrance to drop out of the top two in the under 16s.

The Sharks did the job with the ball, bowling out Bairnsdale for 121 but suffered a big collapse with the bat to fall short by 15 runs, and ultimately miss an opportunity to play off in the final.

Connor Hughes led the way for Sale-Maffra with 3-15, while Daine McGuiness, Tim Dessent and Zac Durrant were the other multiple wicket takers.

Elliott Durrant and Campbell Meade both managed 38 at the top of the order before disaster struck for Sale-Maffra, with the Sharks losing 10-45 to fall short.

Warragul will meet Bairnsdale in the final.

SALE-MAFFRA went down to a strong Morwell side at Wurruk in the women’s.

Morwell posted 5-150 before bowling out Sale-Maffra for 51, with Tamara Hall the only batter to reach double figures for the Sharks.

Despite the loss, the Sharks put in an improved effort with the ball, conceding much less extras than in previous rounds.

Rachael Green and Teagan Fairbrother led the way with two wickets, while Latesha Neal chipped in with one.

Sale-Maffra will meet Warragul at Yarragon in the next round, to be played on Sunday, January 18.