Parrots rain on Maroons party

RELATED: Eagles defeat Magpies in derby

LEONGATHA rained on Traralgon’s Gippsland League football premiership celebrations on Saturday.

After the Maroons unfurled their 2015 premiership flag, the Parrots won the grand final rematch 11.10 (76) to 5.15 (45).

The visitors made the early running, kicking 3.2 to one behind in the first quarter. The Maroons finally split the big sticks in the second term before reducing the deficit to 19 points at half-time.

The Maroons failed to hit the target in the third quarter, kicking 2.6 to let the Parrots off the hook.

Leongatha took advantage in the final term, kicking four goals to one as Traralgon again struggled for accuracy.

Chris Dunne and Aaron Hillberg led the scoring for the Parrots with three and two goals respectively, while debutants Luke Bowman, Joel Sinclair and Josh Hopkins were among their best.

Recruit Hayden Hector was Traralgon’s best player.

BAIRNSDALE held on to defeat Drouin at home by five points.

The sides were separated by no more than six points at any change, with the Redlegs winning 10.9 (69) to 9.10 (64).

James Gibbs and Simon Deery booted four goals each for the home side, who was also well-served by Andrew Nelson.

Steve Ballingall was the Hawks’ best, with Liam Axford kicking three goals.

A FIVE-goal second quarter helped Warragul account for Moe at home in another tight tussle.

Moe led by five at the first change but a strong second term set the Gulls on course for a 16-point win, 12.15 (87) to 10.11 (71).

Recruit Brayden Fowler kicked four goals for the Gulls, who were led by Nate Paredes and Dylan Proctor.

Scott Van Dyk was the Lions’ best, with Mark Engley booting four majors.

WONTHAGGI turned in a strong second half to fend off a feisty Morwell, 11.16 (82) to 7.5 (47).

The Power jumped to a 17-point quarter-time lead, but the Tigers made it a two-point game by half-time.

Morwell was held scoreless in the third quarter as the Power added a couple of majors before shutting the door with four more in the final term.

Dominic O’Connor was the Power’s major contributor, while Adam Cook kicked four goals.