Muir wins Burley Memorial

MAFFRA and District Car Club hosted the annual Noel Burley Memorial Hillclimb, the final round of the Boisdale Hillclimb Series, on Saturday.

The twilight, short track race meeting attracted more than 110 entrants from across Gippsland and further afield, who competed for the coveted perpetual trophies in honour of one of the club’s early members, Noel “Noddy” Burley.

After eight runs with racing finishing under lights, Matt Muir set the fastest outright time of the meeting, 41.35 seconds, in his purpose built buggy. It was not an easy win however, with Maurice McCarthy, Kerran Pridmore and Anthony Kovco all nipping at his heels throughout the event.

This was Muir’s fourth Noel Burley Perpetual Trophy win, and third in a row for the experienced driver.

The women’s class winner was Chelsea Hickling, with 47.29s, over Lauren Britton and Hannah Fortune.

Junior drivers also performed well, with Lachlan Allman awarded the perpetual trophy for his 46.1s run in a Honda Civic.

All three winners were presented their trophies by Burley’s family. The 2019 Boisdale Hillclimb Series will begin in February, with dates for all events to be formalised soon.